Μερικές φορές χρειάζεται πραγματική άγνοια κάποιου για να ανάψει μια φωτιά …

Sometimes it takes someone else’so true ignorance to light a fire…

I made a decision to actually respond to a random blog post that for some reason popped up in my newsfeed. It was very, very anti-vaccine/conspiracy theorist, and I do tend to be vocal about how wrong that is. Per usual, when it came to a “cite your sources” challenge arrived, no sources on their side were given, instead they pulled things out of this blog that have nothing to do with vaccines or autism with the express purpose of shaming me. However, I am not ashamed of my religion. Then they tried to make me feel shameful because they saw that I had written the post about my lithium problem. And having a mental illness is something you hide.

Not anymore.

If he ever sees this, thank you sir, your nasty comments didn’t send me regressing into a sobbing pile of humiliation as you intended, but instead gave me the push I  needed to start a new blog about being open about my Bipolar disorder. I had been kicking the idea around for a while, but didn’t do much with it. Well…here it is .

2 thoughts on “Μερικές φορές χρειάζεται πραγματική άγνοια κάποιου για να ανάψει μια φωτιά …

  1. It’s ironic the blog is question is populated by conspiracists, known to scream “free speech” at the slightest moderation in online forums, but appear to have missed the rest of the first amendment…which includes Freedom of (and from) Religion. Scott Creighton suggesting your beliefs should be treated with valium is particularly odious. I’m certain he’d never suggest such a thing with Xtians, Muslims or Jews. Hypocrites all of them.

    As for the autism issue, here are some good links I posted, that I expect will disappear:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Wakefield#MMR_controversy
    http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/03/i-used-to-be-an-anti-vaxer/385786/
    http://www.voicesforvaccines.org/leaving-the-anti-vaccine-movement/

    Like

Leave a comment